Tuesday, 16 June 2015

Poetry Writing Competition

A few of the winning entries:

Learning flooded to the rooftops
Inspiring eager young authors
Boosting emotions to the limit
Remaining unread books seem irresistible
Adventure awaits in the comfort of your armchair
Rhymes, short as a page to the impossibly long fiction
Yes! Valuable updates ease stressed readers
 Written by Zoe Allen, 10 years old

Little books
Icky books
Big books
Read books
Angry books
Right books
Yellow books 
Written by Tom Pescini, 6 years old

Wednesday, 10 June 2015


Friday 26 June

Well done to ROOM 3 for winning the Maths Ladder Trophy for Term 2. Which class will win the trophy in Term 4?

Congratulations to the:
  • Year 5/6 mid-year champion: SAM from Room 1, and
  • Year 4 champion: PRAMODH from Room 6 
House Placings and Points Awarded:
1st TUI (27), 2nd TIEKE (24), 3rd PIHIPIHI (23), 4th KORIMAKO (20)

Poetry Writing Competition

House Placings and Points Awarded:
1st PIHIPIHI (45), 2nd KORIMAKO (35), 3rd TIEKE (30), 4th TUI (20)

Congratulations to the winning poets:

  • GLORIOUS (Pihipihi)
  • MACKENZIE (Korimako)
  • BEN C (Tieke)
  • ZOE (Pihipihi)
  • RHEA (Korimako)
  • LUCIA (Tui)
  • TOM P (Pihipihi)
  • SAVANNAH (Tieke)
  • THEO V (Tui)
  • RUBY J (Korimako)
  • AKIO (Korimako)

Wednesday, 3 June 2015

Hockey Festival - 8 June

Pihipihi v Korimako

Korimako charges ahead!

House Placings and Points Awarded:
1st TUI (39), 2nd KORIMAKO (38), 3rd PIHIPIHI (36), 4th TIEKE (30)

A huge thanks to our referees.

Poetry Writing Competition

The challenge:
Write an acrostic poem using the letters in the word 'LIBRARY'.
[Example for 'SCHOOL': Sensational Children Harvesting Oodles Of Learning]

Image result for acrostic poem
The Year 6 library team will choose their ten favourite poems and the winners will be photographed depicting one of the Dewey Decimal non-fiction sections (e.g.  500s = Science) and earn points for their whanau-houses

The photos will be printed as posters and displayed in our library.

Entries can be deposited in the office post box, by next Tuesday (9 June).

The results will be announced on this blog by Monday 15 June.